Help is just a phone call away! (801) 261-3500
Family Counseling Center logo

Professional & Affordable


In the early 1900’s, a group of 19 prominent individuals from diverse religious, political, and professional backgrounds came together to fill a need in the community. They gave small sums of money — $5, $25 — but those donations, combined with the strength of their vision, continues to make a difference in our community today.

They are:

Gov. Simon Bamberger
Fourth governor of the State of Utah, only elected Jewish governor, and the first elected Democrat. Owner and founder of the Bamberger Railroad and Lagoon amusement park.

Dr. Theodore B. Beatty
Utah’s first State Health Commissioner, responsible for fighting small pox and typhoid in Salt Lake City.

Brigadier-General Richard W. Young
U.S. Army Brigadier-General, Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the Philippines, local attorney, and grandson of Brigham Young.

William W. Armstrong
President of the National Copper Bank, a founder and owner of the Castle Valley Coal Company and Utah’s Federal Fuel Administrator during WWI. Elected as a Utah State Senator in 1917.

George S. Auerbach
Owner and operator of Auerbach & Co. department store in Salt Lake City.

Edward G. Caster
Executive Director of the Salt Lake City YMCA from 1912-1916 before moving to head the organization in different cities around the country.

Frank A. Druehl
Co-owner, founder, and operator of Druehl & Franken Drug Company in Salt Lake City; later The Druehl Drug Company.

John B. Evans
Salt Lake City resident and community member.

Sidney D. Evans
Owner and funeral director of S. D. Evans Undertaking Company.

W. Mont Ferry
Utah State Senator from 1911-1915 and the 17th Mayor of Salt Lake City. President of the Salt Lake California Copper Company and the American Silver Producers.

Joseph Geoghegan
Sales manager of the Utah-Idaho Sugar Company. Executive committee member of the State Historical Society of Utah.

Rev. Elmer I. Goshen
Reverend of the First Congregational Church of Salt Lake City from 1903-1937. Founded the first Boy Scout troop and began the first Alcoholics Anonymous group in Utah.

George D. Pyper
Fifth General Superintendent of Sunday School for the LDS Church, prominent member of the Mormon Tabernacle Choir and composer of many LDS hymns. Lead Tenor of the Salt Lake Opera Company and manager of the Salt Lake Theater.

Windsor V. Rice
Original organizer of the Castle Valley Coal Company. Established the Mohrland townsite and the Castle Valley Railroad.

Mrs. Stella Simon
Wife of Adolph Simon, prominent Jewish businessman and co-owner of the Paris Millinery Company and the L&A Simon Company in Salt Lake City.

W. H. Tibbals
Mine owner and leading mine broker in Utah.

Matthew H. Walker
Owner and founder of Walker Brother’s Bank. Built the Walker House Hotel and the Walker Opera House in Salt Lake City.

Mrs. Dorothy Whitley
Wife of accomplished engineer Charles W. Whitley, who built the Canyon Ferry Dam in Helena, Montana, was president of the Utah Steel Corporation, and vice-president of the American Smelting & Refining Company.

J. D. Wood
Owner and Founder of the J.D. Wood General Merchandise Store in Farmington, Utah.